Sunday, May 26, 2024

Join our email blast

Just Released

Iowans to receive prestigious Volunteer Hall of Fame and Excellence in Mentoring Awards from Governor Reynolds


The Iowa Volunteer Hall of Fame was established in 1989 to honor Iowans who have made extraordinary donations of volunteer service to their communities. Nominees must live or operate in Iowa: individuals, national service members, families, groups, organizations, nonprofits, businesses, or corporations may be nominated. Being selected is the most prestigious state-level honor volunteers can receive; the people selected have freely given their precious time and talent in countless ways to benefit others and have forever changed their community, the state, the nation, or the world.

The Excellence in Mentoring Awards, established in 2009, gives Iowa MENTOR certified programs the opportunity to recognize outstanding long-time youth mentors. Individuals selected have served as a mentor a minimum of two years and exemplify both the spirit and positive benefits of mentoring.

WHAT: Volunteer Hall of Fame and Excellence in Mentoring Awards Ceremony, coordinated by Volunteer Iowa

WHO: The 2024 Iowa Volunteer Hall of Fame inductees are:

  • Robert (Bob) Allbee, Muscatine
  • Celeste M. Lawson, Des Moines
  • Vicki Leonard, Dubuque
  • Daniel L. Lopez, Des Moines
  • Refugee and Immigrant Association (RIA), Iowa City and Cedar Rapids
  • SALUD Multicultural Health Coalition, Storm Lake

          The recipients of the 2024 Excellence in Mentoring Award are:

CNA - Stop HIV IowaCNA - Immunizations
  • John (Johnnie) Ferguson, Hamburg (TeamMates – Hamburg Chapter)
  • Yvonne Lyons, Bettendorf (Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Mississippi Valley)
  • Nicki Mullins, Ankeny (Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Iowa)
  • Indira Velazquez, West Des Moines (Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Iowa)

WHERE: State Capitol Building, 1007 E. Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA – 1st Floor Rotunda

WHEN: Tuesday, April 30, 2024; 3:00-4:00pm

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Summer Stir - June 2024