Wednesday, May 18, 2022

Join our email blast

Just Released

Spin Doctors, Sir Sly, Jeffrey Foucault, and Joe Pug Headline the 2018 Des Moines Arts Festival


Des Moines, IA  May 30, 2018 — Live music and entertainment return to the Hy-Vee Main Stage at Des Moines Arts Festival June 22-24 with popular American indie rock band Sir Sly and legendary New York quartet Spin Doctors headlining Friday and Saturday night, respectively. Jukebox the Ghost will open for Sir Sly on Friday night.

The 2018 Acoustic Stage presented by Meredith Corporation welcomes a variety of acts to the stage including American songwriter and record producer Jeffrey Foucault, and American folk singer-songwriter Joe Pug.

Sir Sly thrills crowds with moody electronic-tinged pop music. Formed in Los Angeles in 2012, the three-piece band released their debut full-length album, “You Haunt Me,” featuring the singles “Ghost” and “Gold.” Their single “High” held the number two spot on Sirius XM’s Alt 18 Countdown for three weeks and remained on the countdown for 19 weeks from April to August 2017. The song also played during an episode of Netflix’s mystery teen drama web television series “13 Reasons Why.”

Spin Doctors are a rock band from New York City, best known for their early 1990s hits, “Two Princes,” a Grammy-nominated hit and the number-one rock radio single of the year that was firmly planted into the brains of everyone within earshot, and “Little Miss Can’t Be Wrong”, which peaked on the Billboard Hot 100 chart at No. 7 and No. 17, respectively.

Jukebox the Ghost is an American three-piece power pop band from the Washington, D.C. metro area. Their latest record, “Off to The Races” is a giddy, vibrant collection of their most vibrant songs. In addition to festivals like Lollapalooza, Outside Lands, Bonnaroo, and Bottlerock, Jukebox the Ghost has also performed on The Late Show with David Letterman and Conan.

CNA - Stop HIV Iowa

Jeffrey Foucault is an American songwriter and record producer whose work marries the influence of American country, blues, rock ‘n’ roll, and folk music. He has released four full-length solo albums and has toured extensively in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Europe. His “Salt as Wolves” album debuted at number seven in the Billboard Top Blues Album Chart in November 2015. He has been described as “contemporary and timeless” by the New York Times.

Joe Pug is an American singer-songwriter from Greenbelt, Maryland. He has released two extended play records as well as the albums “Messenger,” “The Great Despiser,” and Windfall. The piano-driven song, “Bright Beginnings” and the atmospheric rumination of “Great Hosannas” are just further indication that he’s quite comfortable stepping outside of the guy-with-a-guitar trappings of the genre.

Both stages present a wide variety of offerings to the 2018 lineup.

The Main Stage will also feature:
·      Jukebox the Ghost
·      Brazilian 2wins
·      Adé & The Soul Brothers
·      Andy Fleming & The Sweet Nothings
·      Ryne Doughty + Band
·      Treesreach
·      The Fuss
·      Scott Davis Quartet
·      Central Iowa Music Lab
·      Des Moines Community Playhouse
·      Girls Rock ! Des Moines
·      Revival Center Choir


The Acoustic Stage presented by Meredith Corporation will also feature:
·      Dan Tedesco
·      Joe and Vicki Price
·      Dusty Heart
·      Shaun Munday
·      Natascha Myers
·      Ace Jones
·      Patresa Hartman
·      Josh Sinclair
·      Denise Forney
·      The DM Project
·      Chad Elliott
·      Iowa Writers’ House

As a special feature to the Festival, both nights will culminate with a spectacular laser show presented by Athene with an amazing convergence of light, music and sound. The laser shows will begin immediately following the Sir Sly and Spin Doctors shows on the Hy-Vee Main Stage Friday and Saturday night and will last approximately 15 minutes.

See the full lineup here:
Admission to the Festival and all live music and entertainment shows are free to attend!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.